November 1, 2020


Dear Friends and Colleagues:


What a year 2020 has been!  We wrote to everyone in December 2019 to welcome you to the Fourth Annual Sonoma Eye Meeting that were to take place at the beautiful Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn located in Sonoma Country, California in April 2020.  However, the global pandemic has stimulated changes in all aspects worldwide.  In place of a three-day live meeting, we are very pleased to invite you to join us at three virtual Sonoma Eye sessions to occur on Saturdays, December 12, 2020; January 9, 2021; and January 30, 2021. 
As the role of inflammation has been unveiled and solidified across different segments of ophthalmic diseases, from cornea and external diseases, to uvea, retina and vitreous, and to orbit and optic nerve, the 2020 Virtual Sonoma Eye will again bring together distinguished clinician scientists of different expertise to discuss how inflammation plays a role, peripheral or critical, in the pathogenesis of various ophthalmic diseases from dry eyes to choroiditis, ulcerative keratitis to diabetic macular edema, thyroid eye diseases to giant cell arteritis, glaucoma to macular degeneration.  The Scientific Programs will continue feature advances in the management of ophthalmic diseases that involve inflammation, including the development of new therapeutic options, targeting inflammatory pathways combined with others such as angiogenesis and vascular adhesion.  In addition, the 2020 C. Stephen Foster, MD Lecture at Sonoma Eye will be delivered by a distinguished clinician scientist.      

Following the tremendous success of the 2017, 2018, and 2019 meetings, the upcoming virtual 2020 Sonoma Eye Meeting will continue to foster and encourage much discussions among authorities in the fields and attendees as we expect much learning and exchange of knowledge to occur throughout the various sessions.  Live discussions with participation from the attendees will occur in each section during the virtual sessions.

We sincerely hope that you will be able to join us at the Fourth Sonoma Eye Meeting to occur online starting on December 12, 2020.  Registrations will be complimentary for all attendees.   We look forward to seeing many colleagues virtually!   


With warmest welcome,



David S. Chu, MD (New York, USA) and Quan Dong Nguyen, MD, MSc (Palo Alto, USA)


Organizing Committee

Esen K. Akpek, MD (Baltimore, USA)
Sofia Androudi, MD (Thessaloniki, Greece)
Diana V. Do, MD (Palo Alto, USA)

M. Sohail Halim, MBBS (Sunnyvale, USA)
Erik Letko, MD (Denver, USA)

Gavin Li, BS (Baltimore, USA)

Elisabetta Miserocchi, MD (Milan, Italy)

Ron Neumann, MD (Tel Aviv, Israel)

Maite Sainz de la Maza, MD, PhD (Barcelona, Spain)

Virender Sangwan, MBBS (Hyderabad, India)
Yasir J. Sepah, MBBS (Palo Alto, USA)

Rajiv Shah, MD (Winston-Salem, USA)

Sarkis H. Soukiasian, MD (Burlington, USA)